A New Day is Dawning

Discovering the Feasts #3

An Overview of the Seven Feasts

This is part 3 of a series of articles on the Biblical Feasts of the Lord (sometimes called the “Jewish Feasts”) and how they were designed by God to reveal both the first and second coming of his Messiah, Jesus.  If you haven’t read the articles preceding this one, I highly recommend you start here.

There are seven feasts, or “festivals” of Yahweh.  These were sacred holidays ordained by Yahweh in the Old Testament.  You will see throughout this study that seven is a very important number to God’s heart.  These feasts are conveniently listed in Leviticus 23:1-44.

While Moses was atop Mt. Sinai, God gave him the dates and observances of the seven Feasts of Yahweh.  While they each have various names, they are commonly known as Passover, Unleavened Bread, Firstfruits, Pentecost, Trumpets, Atonements, and Tabernacles.

Feast of Yahweh overview

These feast are divided into two seasons: the Spring Feasts and the Fall Feasts.  While the feasts commemorate events and observances in the Old Testament, more importantly, all seven feasts point to and are fulfilled in Jesus, the Messiah.  As I pointed out in my last post, Jesus was crucified on the day of Passover, buried on the day of Unleavened Bread, rose again on Firstfruits.  50 days later, he sent his Holy Spirit on the day of Pentecost.  We now exists in the time period between the Feasts of the Spring and Fall.  This interim period represents the “church age.”  During this “Summer Harvest” the Lord is calling and gathering those who will follow Him until the Fall Feasts are fulfilled in the second coming of Jesus.

And the first of these is the feast of Trumpets, which I believe represents the second coming of Christ and the rapture of his Church; then the Feast of Atonements which I believe represents the Day of Judgment when every human being will stand before the throne of God, and lastly, the Feast of Tabernacles, which I believe represents the day when our Lord, Jesus Christ will finally dwell, or “tabernacle,” among his people and reigns as their king forever.

Each feast is part of a comprehensive whole.  No feast stands alone.  The children of Israel could not observe one feast and ignore another.  If they failed to observe these feasts, God said that person was to be cut off from his people (Nahum 1:15).

Are you starting to get the sense that these feasts are very important to God’s heart?

When we study the Feasts of the Lord, we concern ourselves with 4 things:

  1. When? On what day in God’s calendar does the Feast occur?
  2. Why? Why is this festival celebrated?  What event does it commemorate in the Old Testament?
  3. What? What are the symbols and offerings connected with this feast?
  4. How? How did Jesus fulfill this feast in the New Testament?

In the next article, we’ll look at the first feast of the Lord, Passover.  We’ll apply these four questions to this High Holy Day, and explore how its date, the Old Testament events it commemorates, and its food offerings were all fulfilled in the death of Yeshua, the Messiah.

I hope God uses this study of the feasts to bring you closer to him.
-Tim Baker


Leave a Reply